#Thisisyourfilm 2008 – 2016

mac.jpg

It’s the last part… OF MY LIFE. So, this is the period where I turned old, got married, had kids and stopped believing in dreams. As such, I’ve listened to less new music and watched less movies. I’m not even going to bother with books – I still read plenty, but it’s down to like a couple of books a month from a couple a week – #Thisisyourfuture.

2008

Top Grossing Film: The Dark Knight

My Favourite Film: Love Exposure

Have you seen Love Exposure? Is it better than The Dark Knight? Watch it and then tell me what you think. What about Departures? Martyrs?

Biggest Selling Song: Hallelujah – Alexandra Burke

Blasphemy

My Favourite Song: Home by Gemma Hayes

Biggest Selling Album: Tha Carter III by Lil Wayne

I don’t think I’ve heard a single song by Lil Wayne

My Favourite Album: Death Magnetic by Metallica

2009

Top Grossing Film: Avatar

My Favourite Film: Inglourious Basterds

Not many standouts this year – I was almost going to pick Drag Me To Hell. I’m being lazy in searching at this point though.

Biggest Selling Song: Poker Face – Gaga

Managed to not hear this until about 2011.

My Favourite Song: Private Hell by Alice In Chains

Biggest Selling Album: Fearless by Taylor Swift

I think I’ve heard maybe one Taylor Swift song.

My Favourite Album: Journal For Plague Lovers by Manic Street Preachers

2010

Top Grossing Film: Toy Story 3

My Favourite Film: I Saw The Devil

Yeah, at the point of writing, I still haven’t seen Inception. What the hell is wrong with me. I know, I know. I didn’t love Shutter Island. A few which I would rank on the same level here – Micmacs, Black Swan, Ip Man 2, Paranormal Activity 2, so any of those I am happy with being my favourite.

Biggest Selling Song: Love The Way You Lie – Eminem

Great.

My Favourite Song: I Think I Found It by Manic Street Preachers

Biggest Selling Album: Recovery by Eminem

Yeah, it’s a good album

My Favourite Album: The Final Frontier by Iron Maiden

2011

Top Grossing Film: Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows

My Favourite Film: Killer Joe

I also haven’t seen a single Harry Potter movie. There isn’t a single standout US movie this year that jumps out at me. We Bought A Zoo, Hugo? Apparently some critics say 2011 is one of the best, if not the best years for movie quality ever. I just don’t see it. Yet.

Biggest Selling Song: Someone Like You – Adele

Typically bland shrieking by Adele

My Favourite Song: I Am Made Of You – Alice Cooper

Biggest Selling Album: 21 by Adele

The year music died (again).

My Favourite Album: The Hunter by Mastodon

2012

Top Grossing Film: The Avengers

My Favourite Film: Cabin In The Woods

Biggest Selling Song: Somebody That I Used To Know – Gotye

Got Ye? I’ll tell ye what I’ve got? SORE EARS. ROFLMAO!

My Favourite Song: Circles by Anneke Van Giersbergen

Biggest Selling Album: 21 by Adele

Oh, fuck off.

My Favourite Album: The 2nd Law by Muse

2013

Top Grossing Film: Frozen

My Favourite Film: The Kings Of Summer

We’re getting into sketchy territory now – from 2012 onwards I have seen very few of the Oscar nominated and biggest grossing movies. I’ve seen five of the top 10 grossing movies of 2013 at the time of writing, 5 in 2012, 2 in 2011, 3 in 2010, 3 and a half in 2014, 4 in 2015, 2 in 2016. Ah well.

Biggest Selling Song: Blurred Lines – Robin Thicke

Never heard it.

My Favourite Song: Show Me The Wonder – Manic Street Preachers

Biggest Selling Album: The 20/20 Experience by Justin Timberlake

Don’t care.

My Favourite Album: Drive

2014

Top Grossing Film: Age Of Extinction

My Favourite Film: It Follows

Biggest Selling Song: Happy – Pharrell Williams

Terrible

My Favourite Song: Black Square by Manic Street Preaches

Biggest Selling Album: 1989 by Taylor Swift

See above

My Favourite Album: 1000 Forms Of Fear by Sia

2015

Top Grossing Film: The Force Awakens

My Favourite Film: Fury Road

Biggest Selling Song: Uptown Funk – Ronson and Mars

Awful

My Favourite Song: Our Decades In The Sun by Nightwish

Biggest Selling Album: 25 by Adele

I think she should take a break until she release 40. She won’t be any more relevant by that point.

My Favourite Album: Drones by Muse

2016

Top Grossing Film: Captain America: Civil War

My Favourite Film: Rogue One

Why not. I’ve given up by this point.

Biggest Selling Song: One Dance

Never heard of it so I assume I’ve never heard it.

My Favourite Song: Bird Set Free by Sia

I don’t know anymore, so sticking with Sia. Anything from that album really, but I’m partial to the ‘I don’t want to die’ bit on Bird Set Free.

Biggest Selling Album: 25 by Adele

Trump. Brexit. Adele. Welcome to Hell.

My Favourite Album: This Is Acting by Sia

There you go, my life on a plate. Share your favourites in the comments!

2 thoughts on “#Thisisyourfilm 2008 – 2016

  1. John Charet April 28, 2017 / 6:20 pm

    Great post 🙂 Your favorite film of 2015, was my fourth favorite film of that year. After Goodbye to Language, Queen and Country and Inside Out, Mad Max: Fury Road ranked as my fourth favorite film of 2015. 🙂 Interesting isn’t it? 🙂 Anyway, keep up the great work as always 🙂

    • carlosnightman April 28, 2017 / 7:16 pm

      I’ve always loved the Mad Max series so it was great to see a sequel living up to what came before, especially after such a gap

Leave a Reply

