Best Cinematography – 1968

Official Nominations: Romeo And Juliet. Ice Station Zebra. Star! Oliver! Funny Girl.

There is one obvious outcast here, and that one will obviously be my choice of winner. The other nominees each feel and look too much like stage adaptations to deserve a Best Cinematography win under my criteria so therefore my winner is Ice Station Zebra and Daniel L Fapp.

My Winner: Ice Station Zebra

Ice-Station-Zebra.jpg

My Nominations: Ice Station Zebra. Planet Of The Apes. Bullitt. Hell In The Pacific. Once Upon A Time In The West. The Charge Of The Light Brigade.

It’s bizarre that in a year filled with so many stunningly shot films that The Academy fell back upon its old traditional ways and awarded wins and nominations to films which would look essentially identical on stage as they do on film. In that light, my list is almost completely different to the official one, with Planet Of The Apes shooting Earth as a foreign land and offering one of cinema’s most memorable shots and Bullitt showcasing a violent San Francisco in an all American ultra-modern fashion. Hell In The Pacific is a frequently beautiful looking film which doesn’t shy away from showing the wrath of nature and how insignificant man is, while The Charge Of The Light Brigade looks great even if it is largely forgettable. My winner is no surprise, with Tonino Delli Colli again working wonders with Sergio Leone in Once Upon A Time In The West to depict wide barren lands sparsely populated with distant bandits and assassins who seem to hang on the edge of a horizon.

My Winner: Once Upon A Time In The West

ouatitw-7

Over to you, which movie of 1968 do you think has the Best Cinematography? Let us know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Best Cinematography – 1968

  1. John Charet September 22, 2016 / 1:19 am

    Great post 🙂 Once Upon a Time in the West is a great choice, but I am amazed you did not nominate 2001: A Space Odyssey. Still great choice picking Once Upon a Time in the West though 🙂 Keep up the great work as always 🙂

  2. carlosnightman September 22, 2016 / 9:27 am

    Yeah, I thought I did have it on my list of nominations when I first wrote the post but I must have missed it for some reason, weird. Either way, I would have still picked Once Upon A Time In The West for the win 🙂

Leave a Reply

