Amazon Vine Freebies: 21st July 2011

 

Teach me words, Sir

After last month’s extravagance, most Vine folks came back to earth with a bumpedy thump this month. My first list was quite extensive for a change, though it was mostly books and software. I’m moving house at the moment, and trying to look after a baby, so reading has taken a few giant leaps backwards. No books for me this month.

But a couple of things caught mine eye, and I selected them gratefully:

Sure Maximum Protection Cream for Men 45 ml (Pack of 3): This appears to be some sort of cream for sweaty underarms. Can’t wait to give this a go…

Berlitz Chinese & Japanese Premier Version 2 (PC/Mac): I taught myself Japanese in my spare time when I was at University (only to a minor extent) and then took a year long course whilst finishing my degree. That was a while ago though and most of what I learned has gone bye bye. I thought this would be interesting in my spare time- it comes with book, DVD, CD, and you can stick tracks on your Ipod too. It seems to be more of a refresher course for me at the moment with simple phrases being taught- these are the sorts of thingsa you retain. I’ve had a go on the CD (not the DVD yet) and so far it seems pointlessly hilarious. You would think something as simple as Ohayo Gozaimasu- meaning Good Morning would be a matter of repeating it a few times until it stuck. Berliz decided though that this (and most of the other phrases) needed an artistic description to help you remember. So, in order to remember Ohayo Gozaimasu, Berliz says ‘Picture the State of Ohio in the morning going to a patch of moss in the shape of an eye’. Eh?

2 thoughts on “Amazon Vine Freebies: 21st July 2011

  1. Jacqui Murray July 25, 2011 / 5:44 pm

    Love the Berlitz choice. I got gamer headphones and a sleep pillow to stop snoring (for my wonderful husband). These are supposed to reflect our purchases, huh Carlos? I wonder what Amazon is telling us?

    • carlosnightman July 26, 2011 / 9:06 am

      Yeah, lots of people ‘complain’ that the lists never reflect their interests- for example the old man who only buys jazz music from Amazon, when a Jazz CD is on offer it doesn’t appear in his list but instead he gets offered a breast pump. So it seems completely random for us too. Though every so often they get it right- I wanted a video camera as my wife was 8 months pregnant- wanted to have the camera ready for when the baby came. I had talked about this with my wife one day randomly, and that same night on Vine I was offered an HD Flip video camera!

Leave a Reply

